//
you're reading...
DYI

DYI – Colored Soft Shoes

My first ever post was on colored soft shoes and how many of the Irish dance shoe designers are jumping on the bandwagon. It seems like they’re popping up more and more recently and everyone’s been wondering how to get them.

I’m graduating next week and some of the dancers I help out gave me the best parting gift I could ask for. They gave me gold soft shoes with their names sharpied in black! They’ll be a perfect addition in my new apartment next year! A perfect gift for a graduation or teacher.

Here’s a picture of my lovely new gold soft shoes:

And how they’re currently on display:

So, this inspired me! In case you don’t want to spend $65 on colored soft shoes, here’s another option.

Take an old pair of soft shoes (or find a cheap new pair) and spray paint them! My dancers used gold spray paint, which I think created a nice elegant look. It will work perfect as a decoration. However, any opaque spraypaint would work. Just make sure to do it in an open space, wear old clothes and put a sheet down so you don’t spray paint the ground!

They do seem to rub off a little bit, so I’m not sure how well they would hold up with dancing. They should still be great for a one time show or for occasional dance outs!

Has anyone else done this? Send me pictures! I’d love to see results! Any other tips/suggestions?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Feisonista and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 174 other followers

Feisonista on Twitter

Site Meter

