//
you're reading...
Irish Dance in the Real World

Feisonista teams up with Never Enough Nails for Irish Dance nails!

Hey everyone! Thanks for bearing with me over the holidays and travel for my real life job! However, Feisonista is back in motion. And for my first post back, it’s a great one. I’ve teamed up with Erin, a champion Irish dancer who runs the nail blog Never Enough Nails. If you haven’t seen it yet, check it out. She has tons of great reviews and ideas for livening up your nails. Erin has been kind enough to do some Irish dance inspired nail designs and share her thoughts on nail polishes as part of your feis look! Enjoy!

Hello Feisionista readers! My name is Erin and I have been an Irish dancer for the last 20 years! I have also been a nail polish blogger for two years. In this post, I get to combine my two loves!

So you thought you couldn’t wear nail polish while dancing in a competition? Think again! From the mild to the wild, I’m here to show you some ways to rock nail polish at all of your dancing events. Always ask your dance teacher about their policy for wearing polish. Mine allows us to wear any nail polish for solos, as you can’t see it (unless you have a SERIOUS arm problem!!). But, we are not allowed to wear any polish for teams.

If you’re looking for a mild nail polish look for dancing, I suggest picking a color that is in your dress and finding a pale version of it in a polish.

New England Regional Oireachtas 2009

I started wearing this pale gold Essie polish, called Shift Power, a few years back when my dress had a lot of gold accents.

I first wore Essie Shift Power to the All Irelands in 2009. I got a recall in my heavy round, my light round AND overall! Naturally, I decided that Shift Power was a “lucky” nail polish. I wore it again at the 2009 World Championships in Philadelphia and recalled in both my solo and my team! Essie Shift Power has become my permanent lucky nail polish.

I still wear it at every competition, even though my dress colors have changed. Many of my friends have a lucky nail polish they wear at major competitions. It’s just one more thing to make you feel confident on the day you dance!!

Now, if you’re looking for something to really match your dress, I have some ideas for you. We all know that the asymmetrical trend in dress designs is still going strong. If you have some asymmetrical design on your dress, you can do a nail design to match! I chose a neon pink base polish (Zoya Lola) to match my current dress.

2011 World Championship in Dublin

I waited until my base color was completely dry and then applied one of these round stickers to the part of my nail that I wanted to remain pink.

I then applied a coat of black nail polish to the area I left uncovered by the sticker. I let this dry completely, peeled the stickers off and voila! Asymmetric nails!

As Irish dancers, we all know the importance of BLING!!! We cover our dresses, socks, and the buckles of our hard shoes with Swarovski crystals, right? So why not bling out our nails too??  For this look, I started with a neon orange polish (Essie Mini Shorts), again to match my dress.

There are millions of nail polish colors out there to match any dress colors, so you can find the perfect match to your costume. After the orange was dry, I added a clear top coat to my nails. While the top coat was still wet, I applied genuine Swarovski crystals to my ring finger. I finished the look off with one more coat of a clear top coat, to make sure my crystals stay put!

Many nail art supply stores sell Swarovski crystals specifically sized for your nails. Sally Beauty Supply stores usually have them, as well as bornprettystore.com.

Finally, if you’re looking for a more Irish look, try the Irish flag! This is a look I often sport on St. Patrick’s Day. My preferred Irish flag nail polish colors are OPI Alpine Snow for the white, OPI Green-wich Village for the green, and OPI Tangerine Scene for the orange. However, you can use whatever white, green, and orange you happen to have on hand!

If you can’t make the sections of the flag come out right using just a nail polish brush, you can use Scotch tape to make your lines straight. The key to using tape or stickers to help you with nail art is making sure the base color of polish is 100% dry before you put the tape on top of it!

Nail polish and Irish dance really do go well together. I hope you can find that perfect polish color to go with your dress. Or, you can be like my friend, who loved a nail polish so much that she painted it all over an index card and mailed to Gavin as the inspiration for the color of her new costume! Either way, rock your Irish dance nails proudly!

Thanks, Erin! Love the looks! Remember to check out her blog – www.neverenoughnails.com

Do you polish your nails for competitions? Looking forward to Irish dance inspired nails? Let us know what you think!

Stay Fashionable, Feisers!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Feisonista teams up with Never Enough Nails for Irish Dance nails!

  1. SO CUTE. I am loving it…especially the last one with the Irish flag!! 🙂 I wish my nailpolish would stay long enough to make it worth it for me to do 😀

    <3-Cami from First Day of My Life

    Posted by Cami @ First Day of My Life | January 19, 2012, 11:03 pm
  2. Love all those small and cute details.
    I wish I had the ability to do those things to my nails but I can’t!
    maybe to other ppl nails.

    Posted by barby | June 5, 2012, 5:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Feisonista and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 174 other followers

Feisonista on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Site Meter

